UnionAID

Who We Are

Why Back us

We are a registered charity, recognised by the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade as an international development agency,  helping to alleviate poverty and achieve justice for workers  by supporting the development of unions, worker led cooperatives and education opportunities  for workers and their families.

We believe that all people have the right to fair pay, freedom from debt and violence, access to safe housing and transport, education and healthcare and that empowering workers to advocate, and organise, for their rights is a way to achieve this.

Our Team

Laila Harré

Programme Manager - INSPIRASI Indonesia Young Leaders Programme

laila.harre@unionaid.org.nz

Caroline Novak

Programme Support Manager - INSPIRASI Indonesia Young Leaders Programme

caroline@unionaid.org.nz

Michael Naylor

Executive Officer

michael@unionaid.org.nz

Alexandra Hill

Programme Manager - Mindanao Young Leaders Programme

alexandra.hill@unionaid.org.nz

Violet Wilson-Baird

Fundraising and Digital Officer

violet@unionaid.org.nz

Helen Wilson

Programme Manager - Myanmar Young Leaders Programme

helen@unionaid.org.nz

Josie Major

Programme Support Manager - Myanmar Young Leaders Programme

josie@unionaid.org.nz

Our Partners

UnionAID partners with grassroots organisations like unions and cooperatives so that working people can make democratic decisions for themselves and their communities. The projects we fund are driven by community for community. 

National Garment Workers Federation (NGWF)

Bangladesh

Rangsit and Area Labour Union Group (RLUG)

Thailand

Tamil Nadu Labour Union (TNLU)

Tamil Nadu, India

National Union of Factory and Commercial Workers

Fiji

BPO Industry Employees Network (BIEN)

The Philippines

Board of trustees

Mary Jane Rivers

Trustee

Barbara Williams

Trustee

Ross Wilson

Chair

ross@unionaid.org.nz

Dr Pat Webster

Trustee

Robert Reid

Trustee

Nanette Cormack

Trustee

Melissa Ansell-Bridges

Trustee

Annual Report

UnionAID is a registered NZ charity, is an accredited NZ Aid Programme partner and signatory of the council for International Development code of conduct.  We strives for best practice in all our work and are open and transparent without partners and supporters. You can view our reports and policies here

UnionAID is also proudly an accredited Aotearoa Living Wage employer.